Ahimsa – Non-Violence

The headline in this morning’s paper caused me to close my eyes as I laid my hand over the article beneath it. I took several long, slow breaths and saw the face of the Dalai Lama in my mind. After the 9/11 attacks, he reminded us that war can never create peace. This morning his words come to my heart and I whisper to myself and to my world:  Violence (himsa) can never create Non-Violence (Ahimsa).

I understand the desire to retaliate. I made myself scan the article in which the horrific burning death of one captive was matched by the hanging of another (along with the promise of further executions). My mind is weary and my heart is sad for those living in these realities.

This is my prayer for all of us today:

May all beings have open minds and hearts. May all beings know freedom. May all beings know peace and may their peace come from within.

Aum shanti, shanti, shanti.  Namaste.

Leave a Reply

