Can Meditation be Simple?

It most definitely can be simple. I took a long walk this morning and, upon my return, I smiled with contentment because it was a beautiful time of meditation…and I never even planned to do a walking meditation. It came to me.

I keep Daniel Levin’s card set ZEN Cards on my desk and often read one before going online for any reason but especially before blogging. Can you guess what today’s card was titled? Yep…Meditation!

I cannot say it better so here is how Daniel describes meditation (if you are walking, simply begin the definition with Walk quietly…):

Sit quietly. Watch your thoughts and feelings pass in front of you. Relinquish control and the desire to get caught in them. See that nothing in life is permanent. Your thoughts, feelings, and perceptions all pass before you. If anything catches you, gently release it, and simply continue watching.

Aum shanti

Leave a Reply

