Blessing the Directions

I have developed a sweet tradition to end each day. I have a salt lamp in my bedroom that I turn on at sundown. As I prepare for sleep hours later, I do so by the soft, small light of that lamp. There has not been a television or radio in my room for years. Now, I find myself not wanting to even read in bed at night. I quietly turn down the bed and stand in the middle of my room facing the East with my hands in namaste at the heart. I close my day in gratitude and send a blessing to all the directions. What I am about to share is precious to me and comes from several traditions. I have dared to make it my own in this ritual. I do so in humble respect for the different teachers who have contribute to my awareness of connecting with my present world in this way.

As I bow to the East, I say:   I honor the East, my teachers and their teachers

I turn right and, as I bow to the South, I say:  I honor the South, my children and their children

I turn right and, as I bow to the North, I say:  I honor the North, my ancestors and the ancient ones

I turn right and, as I bow to the West, I say:  I honor the West, my dreams and visions, and the dreams and visions of those I love

I return to the East and raise my arms, with palms open to the Sky and I say:  I honor the Sky and all that is above, both seen and unseen

I lower my arms with palms open to the Earth and I say:  I honor the Earth and all that is below, both seen and unseen

I place my open palms against my chest and say:  I honor all that is Within, All That I Am

My hands return to Namaste at the heart and I bow once more to the East as I say:

Aum Shanti Shanti Shanti

2 thoughts on “Blessing the Directions

Leave a Reply

