Waiting To Know

I was in my late twenties, with two small children, when we decided to become part of a home church. The pastor and his wife were two of the clearest, most loving people I had known and I still remember many things I learned from them.

I scheduled an appointment with the pastor because I was frustrated with myself over not being able to consistently live the changes I knew were needed in my life. We talked about the details and he let me voice my understanding of the principles I wanted to embrace as well as my frustration. Then he quietly said, “Catherine, it is one thing to know something intellectually, in your head; it is quite another thing to know and embrace it from your heart. It is the heart-knowing that allows true change. There are some things that you can acknowledge but you won’t truly know them until you have lived long enough to know them.”

He encouraged me to just live my life and give myself time to grow into what I was learning. He emphasized that life is a process, a journey to be lived. He told me what every counselor or spiritual mentor has told me through the years, “You don’t have to try so hard. You are doing it. The wisdom and consistency will come.”

There are things you cannot know until you have lived long enough to know them.

Not a bad definition of the unfolding of wisdom and enlightenment.

May your day unfold in peace, harmony, love and light. Namaste.

2 thoughts on “Waiting To Know

  1. We have ‘knowing’ now because we have consciously sought to walk in the light that helps us garner wisdom. I can still remember the feeling I had when I asked an older woman in our fellowship, that I truly admired about this very subject, and she had nothing to share with me. Years later I realized words weren’t her strong suit but at the time I felt so cheated. I purposed right then that I would be more aware in my life so that my experiences would produce wisdom.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment, Adina, and for being clear in your personal intention to live consciously and wisely. Your example brings to mind the many ways others have taught me throughout my life. Some were classroom teachers that I remember even as I approach my 70th birthday (in just two days). Some were priests or ministers. Some taught me by living example in their day to day lives. Among those, some taught by being loving, open, and gracious. Others showed me very clearly how not to live by being angry, resentful, and judgmental. All of them were gifts to me and all of them contributed in powerful ways to the person I am today.
    Love, peace, and joy, catherine

    Like

Leave a Reply

