A Metta Blessing

Metta is the Sanskrit term for lovingkindness. Traditionally you begin by blessing yourself then you repeat the blessing using another person’s name. This can be a loved one that you simply want to bless. It can also be a person you are having difficulty relating to and you are using Metta to support resolution. You can expand beyond you and one other by repeating it for our world.

For example:

May my mind and heart be open. May I be healthy and in balance. May I listen and speak from my heart. May I be at peace and live in ease.

May your (or a name) mind and heart be open. May you be healthy and in balance. May you listen and speak from your heart. May you be at peace and live in ease.

May our minds and hearts be open. May we be healthy and in balance. May we listen and speak from our hearts. May we be at peace and live in ease.

Try it on; it just might fit.

May love and peace abound all ways.

2 thoughts on “A Metta Blessing

  1. I truly love this blessing. It is the replacement for the sorrow and hopelessness I feel for our country. Instead of obsessing over the sad things I see everywhere, I will start the day with this Metta Blessing for our world. When I see or hear something troubling, instead of allowing my heart to grieve, I will say, “You have been blessed.” This will be difficult for me to do, but it will give me peace.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful commitment to your own well-being,Lee! As your practice continues, it will become more natural for you to respond in this way and it will feel easier. Blessings of love and light, catherine,

    Like

Leave a Reply

