Already? Really?

I woke up several times during the night and was able, each time, to go back to sleep which is not always the case. As I woke up the last time, I felt a cramp beginning to form in my left leg so I forced myself to get out of bed quickly to stop it. My thought was “At least I kept going back to sleep this time.” I decided to begin my day and the final preparations for a dear friend’s visit. Within a few minutes, my thought was, “Already? Really? Is this how my day is going to be?!”

Yeah, one of those mornings. The simplest of tasks took twice as long. The humidifier wouldn’t work so I cleaned it thoroughly and put it outside to dry. I reached under the sink for my rubber gloves and the foil, plastic wrap, and parchment paper fell out so I rearranged the cabinet. Really? Then I walked outside for a moment and saw a little bird on the wire and felt the cool morning air. I smiled and thought about how many times I felt as though nothing was easy. I also thought about how many times a complicated day unfolded as smooth as silk. Then there are times when nothing feels right even though nothing appears to be wrong – like the day years ago when I was grooming my horse and told my best friend that “I feel as though I woke up backwards in my body this morning! The world feels that strange to me.” She laughed and said she knew just what I meant.

What works for me, on a day that begins the way this one did, is to take a few slow breaths and remind myself to slow down and be very gentle with myself. I’m not doing anything wrong; I am simply not quite in sync with myself and my environment in that moment. I often play a few games of solitaire on my iPad because it is almost a zen experience and brings me into the moment. Then I read something inspirational that gently reminds me that I am, after all, learning to be human and that the process can be quite awkward. I remind myself that everything is unfolding for my highest good whether it feels like it or not. Even as I type this I am monitoring my breath because I have a tendency to shorten and hold it at times like this. Keeping my breath slow and full calms and centers me and allows me to smile because…

Yeah, already, really. And…

This too shall pass. This will shift because everything is in a state of constant change. I am a spiritual being currently having a human experience and that means experiencing the polarities and contrasts of this third dimensional world. Being gentle with myself and letting the moment be okay allows me to be available when it shifts into a more comfortable mode. It allows me to love myself even as I experience these annoying challenges when my leg aches from that early morning cramp. It is all a part of being human after all.

May your day unfold gently and easily and may you know peace.

Leave a Reply

