What Matters

When all your desires are distilled you will cast just two votes: To love more, And to be happy.          -Hafiz

Deepak Chopra recommends “Peaceful Journaling” at bedtime to support your body and mind in moving into a more restful sleep. He recommends using one or more of these questions to guide you, giving thought to your answers and being willing to journal in detail rather than making lists.

What moments gave me a sense of peace today?

When did I feel joy today?

How did I show love today?

How was love shown to me today?

What inspired me today?

(from the meditation program “7 Days to More Restful Sleep”

I see the questions as a tool to distill what you are caring about, what you are desiring. What we focus on definitely determines our level of contentment, joy, and happiness. It also affects our ability to live peacefully from a place of love and compassion for ourselves and others. I find them coming to mind throughout the day in the form of guidance. For example, what can I do in this moment to give me a sense of peace? What brings me joy? How can I show love in this situation?

What matters is that we each find what matters.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

