Where Did You Get Those Ideas?

In my own life, and in the lives of those I have taught through the years, frustration, sadness, anger, and disappointment usually arise because life does not meet our expectations or our definitions of what is right or perfect.

Who told you life had to be perfect for you to be happy?

Who told you life could ever be perfect?

Who told you that your belief system or opinions were the only path to contentment, to God?

Who told you that you are always right?

Who told you that the same form of government works in every culture and every nation?

Who told you that being without a life partner, or children, or great wealth means you are less than or that you won’t be content and happy?

Who said everything would be better if we all just thought alike, believed alike, lived alike?

I do not have all of the answers.

I know that where there is light, there are shadows and darkness.

I know that contrast helps me to see more clearly and to understand what I think, believe, and desire.

I know that a garden would be boring if every flower and plant in it was the same size, shape, and color.

I know that balance and wholeness require polarities, opposites.

I know that love and compassion are more important than opinions.

I know that I do not have all of the answers but, if we begin with love and compassion for ourselves and others, together we can find a lot of them.

Perhaps the first step is for each of us to soften our own edges so that we are more open, thoughtful, and aware. Who knows? Divine Love just may find a path between our softer edges to bring us into deeper peace and contentment than we ever dreamed.

Aum shanti, beloved.

One thought on “Where Did You Get Those Ideas?

Leave a Reply

