Life Is What It Is

Life is what it is … most often it is people who confuse and perplex me. I can become hurt and angry, hopping mad we used to call it, so I get it. Meanness is something uniquely human and, though I see it and I know it exists, it is something I do not relate to on a personal level.

Currently I am reading Gandhi’s autobiography and the quote below resonates so deeply within my being that I want to share it this morning. Having been on the receiving end of people elevating themselves by demeaning me, I learned at a very young age what it feels like. It is a behavior that mystifies me. The things I have experienced cannot compare to the suffering of those who are treated as “less than” simply because they exist.

May our hearts and minds be open to our own attitudes and behaviors with regard to those we are angry with, those who have hurt us, those we do not understand or agree with, those simply different than us. May we be a force of love, peace, and compassion in a world torn by the differences of its people. May we find ways, no matter how small, to bridge the gaps of misunderstanding so that our differences create a collage of peace rather than a map for turmoil and war. May we spend our energy, time, and money supporting the ways and means that inspire and support us in creating a world that respects and honors its own diversity.

GANDHI:

“It has always been a mystery to me how men can feel themselves honoured by the humiliation of their fellow beings.”

Excerpt From: M. K. Gandhi & Mahadev Desai. “An Autobiography.” The Floating Press. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

 

Leave a Reply

