The Myth of Perfection

In the book of Matthew, chapter 5, there is a verse that says

Therefore, you are to be perfect as your Heavenly Father is perfect.

Deeply committed Christians have used this verse form generations to judge themselves and one another. I was a bible teacher for many years and studied this verse at great length, plumbing the depths of its meaning. What I discovered liberated me and shocked my students into being set free themselves.

The word “perfect” was used in the earliest translations of the originals texts and does not convey the deepest, and most spiritual, meanings of the original word. A truer translation would be “come into fruitful maturity.” A simple example is a fruit tree. Fruit trees have to mature before they can produce, sweet, nourishing, edible fruit. And not all trees produce the same fruit.

Therefore, dear hearts, think on this idea:

Grow up into the Truth of who you are – a spiritual being learning to be human. Mature spiritually, emotionally, and mentally so that your purpose is fulfilled…so that you produce the fruit of your True Self, your Divine Essence: love, compassion, peace…

3 thoughts on “The Myth of Perfection

  1. Thank you immensely for sharing this Catherine, this truly is powerful for me this day. I am creating a new blog, so cannot share it, but will once it’s up…

    Like

  2. Thank you from the depth of my Heart and Soul…I will cherish the amazing blessing you just sent me…my heart is grateful. It is always…a fine day…Blessings abundantly flow…Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

